Family violence is an unfortunate reality that can result in psychological, physical, and emotional harm to the victims involved. Under Texas law, domestic assault, aggravated domestic assault, and continuous violence against the family are the three kinds of domestic violence that are classified. Often, domestic violence is thought of as only happening between a wife and husband, but in reality domestic abuse can happen in a number of cases. If the physical act of violence is directed towards a child, any family member through either blood relation or adoption, or even a couple that is dating or has dated in the past, it is considered domestic abuse.
Domestic assault is an act of an individual recklessly harming another person within in his family either physically or verbally. The reckless aspect of domestic assault comes from the idea that the assailant did not have the intent, but did not consider the outcome. The difference between simple domestic assault and aggravated domestic assault is the severity of the bodily energy. Aggravated domestic assault can also include any assault conducted with a deadly weapon. Deadly weapons are weapons that can cause death or serious bodily harm. Additionally, if a person has been convicted of domestic abuse more than twice in one year, they can be charged with continuous violence against the family.
Domestic assault in Texas is described as assault with family violence, or any kind of physical act that does or does not cause physical harm. The convictions and penalties for domestic abuse are severe. Domestic abuse where the victim suffered no injuries is classified as a class C misdemeanor and may result in a fine for up to $500. Victims may also receive restitution which requires whoever is convicted to pay the expense resulting from the crime. If the victim did sustain any bodily injury, suffered any pain, or has marks on his or her body, the charge escalates to a class A misdemeanor. This kind of misdemeanor can result in a year in jail or a $4,000 fine. If the assailant is a repeat offender, the charge becomes a third degree felony and is punishable with 2 to 10 years of jail. With conviction comes punishable lasting effects such as not being able to possess a firearm, not being able to obtain a hunting license, and effects on future employment.
In conclusion, punishments for the different cases of domestic abuse are severe and will undoubtedly harm everyone involved. Talk to an assault lawyer, like an assault lawyer in Arlington, TX, if you or someone you know is involved in an assault dispute.
Thanks to Brandy Austin Law Firm, PLLC, for their insight into domestic violence.